Little Miss Sunshine: Strawberry shortcake

May 8, 2010 § Leave a comment

My roommate’s mother sends her a lot of care packages come finals time; my mom doesn’t. I think that’s because my lightweight diet scared her off of sending anything good, but the reality is, I’ve been living off my roommate’s M&Ms and Lindt truffles (did you know they put out a limited edition milk truffle with a white chocolate filling?). With the exception of yesterday, when almost all I ate was this:

Maybe my last post was a little premature. At about 11:30 p.m. the other day, I was writing a paper in the library. I had been there since noon. Then at about midnight, I was in the kitchen near my room making strawberry shortcake. Don’t ask me how it happened. It just did.

These were originally supposed to be the strawberry shortcake cookies I mentioned in my previous post. But the strawberries I bought at the farmer’s market were reaching the end of their days and were so incredibly juicy that once incorporated into the dough, their juices went everywhere. The resulting sloppy mess had no hope of forming pretty two-bite cookies. So just piled the dough high in a square pan and sprinkled the top with sugar. The result may not have been pretty but it tasted incredible. I’m a little disappointed I didn’t get to make the pretty little sugar-topped cookies Josie talks about, but strawberry shortcake squares still taste just like summer.

On another note, they’re not as good the next day as the strawberries make them quite soggy. But my delusional finals-oriented mind didn’t really care. I sincerely hope if you try this recipe, you get the pretty little cookies I didn’t. Really, I promise I won’t be too jealous.

Strawberry Shortcake Cookies
Martha Stewart Living, June 2009
makes about 3 dozen cookies

2 cups strawberries, hulled and diced into 1/4-inch pieces
1-2 teaspoons freshly squeezed lemon juice
1/2 cup plus 2 Tablespoons granulated sugar
2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
6 Tablespoons cold, unsalted butter, cut into small pieces
2/3 cup heavy cream (I used half-and-half because that was all I could find at the store)
coarse sugar, for sprinkling (I used regular granulated sugar)

Preheat the oven to 375. Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper.

Combine strawberries, lemon juice, and 2 Tablespoons of granulated sugar in a medium bowl. Set aside.

Whisk together the flour, remaining sugar, baking powder, and salt in a large bowl. Using a pastry cutter, cut in the butter to the flour mixture until coarse crumbs are formed. You can also use your fingers. Stir in the heavy cream until the dough starts to come together, then gently fold in strawberries.

Using a 1-1/2 inch cookie scoop, drop dough onto cookie sheets, evenly spaced apart. Sprinkle with coarse sugar. Bake for 22-27 minutes, or until cookies are golden brown. Transfer to a wire rack to cool completely. The cookies are best eaten the same day.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Little Miss Sunshine: Strawberry shortcake at Soufflé Days.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 228 other followers

